Sample esssay on the Commonwealth

The Commonwealth originally called the British Commonwealth of Nations, is an association of sovereign and independent states which formally made up the British empire.

The Headquarters of the Commonwealth is at London (United Kingdom).

The total number of the member countries is 54.

The British Monarch (Queen Elizabeth II) is the symbolic head of the Commonwealth.

Commonwealth Heads of Government Meet (CHOGM) is held at every two years.

India hosted the 1983 meeting at New Delhi.