Notes on The European Economic Community

The European Economic Community or European Common

Market or European Union was established on March 25, 1957.

Its Headquarters is situated in Brussels (Belgium).

The purpose of this organisation was to promote a common market and economic prosperity among member countries and create a single market for free export and import.

The Common European currency, known as “Euro” was launched in Jan. 1999 by the member states.

The total number of member countries is 15.